Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: "a wing can cover all sorts of things": Covers of Tori Amos songs.

Arrow "a wing can cover all sorts of things": Covers of Tori Amos songs.

Hey everyone! I'm stepping out from the Kate Bush forum to share some delights with anyone interested in something different... I was looking through the archives last night out of curiosity concerning known covers of Tori's songs and I didn't see an existing thread. I could of course Google the search string but a) it wouldn't be nearly as fun, b) popular search won't reveal the members of the fan community that glean inspiration from her music and pay tribute by reinterpreting/covering her repertoire.

Also, c) I recently stumbled upon one of my performances from a couple years ago (I'm a pianist by profession) and upon reviewing it, I realized that for this gig in particular I paid homage to the Lady by covering her songs as solo piano interpretations (instrumental only, no vocals). I thought some of you might be interested in hearing them since instrumentals can be so fun to listen to... they sort of allow you to hear the music differently. I remember years ago when I was with the @forum and it was in vogue to mess with the stereo mixes of Tori's songs in order to hear the arrangements without the vocals. I ate that up, so maybe these clips will entertain some of you in a similar way

And most importantly, perhaps this will open the arena for fellow members of the community to share covers of their own! I'm interested to hear what people might come up with since you don't find Tori covers in the mainstream like ever.

In the meantime, here are the Tori segments from one of my solo shows in Long Beach a few years ago. I hope some of you might get some enjoyment out of them. I know I did.

First we have Marianne:

Here In My Head:

Mother:

Winter:

There are more, but I didn't want to flood the thread with media. If you'd like to see/hear more from the show, hit up my YouTube channel.